Chief Marshal’s Banquet


John Beatty Selected as Chief Marshal for 2019 Parade
CLICK HERE (Event Details)

January 8, 2019

The South Boston Allied War Veterans Council (SBAWVC) has selected John Beatty as the Chief Marshal for the 2019 South Boston St. Patrick’s Day / Evacuation Day Parade, to be held on March 17, 2019. John currently serves as the Executive Director of the Massachusetts Military Task Force, which is housed within the Office of the Governor and serves to coordinate among the Commonwealth’s six military facilities to maximize their efficiency. A native of South Boston, Lieutenant Colonel (retired) John Beatty graduated from the United States Military Academy at West Point and was a commissioned as a Field Artillery officer in the United States Army. During his 23 years of military service, John led a range of organizations, commanding units in Germany and Kosovo and deploying twice to the Middle East.

The selection of John Beatty continues a proud SBAWVC tradition of selecting a Chief Marshal with South Boston roots, who have not only honorably served their country, but their community. “We are thrilled to have John Beatty as our Chief Marshal for the 2019 parade. Through his years of service as a leader of our service men and women as an Army officer, and today as head of the task force responsible for the commonwealth’s military installations, John Beatty represents what the Chief Marshal position is all about. We are excited for John to participate in the parade, as well as the various events and festivities leading up to it.”

The Chief Marshal’s Banquet will be held on Saturday, March 2nd at Boston Teachers Union Hall from 5:00 pm – 8:00 pm, with additional information on the event to follow. The South Boston St. Patrick’s Day / Evacuation Day Parade will be held Sunday, March 17, starting at 1 pm. To keep up-to-date with the latest parade and SBAWVC-related news and information, please follow us on social media at our accounts below.

Dave Falvey Commander
South Boston Allied War Veterans Council
(978) 302-3780